Avalanche & Climbing Education

The USDA Forest Service, Mt. Shasta Avalanche Center and Wilderness department are committed to providing avalanche and climbing education to the public for safe recreation in the mountains!!

Free Mount Shasta Climbing & Avalanche Clinics

The Mount Shasta Avalanche Center offers free clinics each season on avalanche awareness, companion rescue, snowmobile safety, and climbing the mountain.

Date(s): Tue, 03/21/2017 | Wed, 03/22/2017 | Thu, 03/23/2017 | Tue, 04/11/2017 | Wed, 04/12/2017 | Tue, 06/06/2017 | Wed, 06/07/2017

Prepare for a safe and successful climb of majestic Mount Shasta via the Avalanche Gulch route. Find out about gear, clothing, permits, low impact camping, climbing protocol, route specifics, and the most current weather and safety hazards.

Date(s): Fri, 12/01/2017 | Fri, 01/05/2018 | Fri, 02/02/2018 | Fri, 03/02/2018

Learn what to Know Before You Go into the backcountry during the winter including how to recognize the clues to avalanche danger along with some basics on safe travel in the backcountry.

Date(s): Sat, 12/02/2017 | Sat, 01/06/2018 | Sat, 02/03/2018 | Sat, 03/03/2018

Avalanche transcievers, or beacons, are the best tools we have to find someone buried in an avalanche. Join us and learn how to use one and effectively carry out a companion rescue.

Date(s): Sat, 01/13/2018

The Mt Shasta Avalanche Center is proud to announce an avalanche awareness and companion rescue class specifically for SNOWMOBILERS!

Avalanche I & II Courses

Take your skills to deeper level by enrolling in an Avalanche I and II course. Several outfitters and schools in the region offer 3 day courses.

Mountaineering Courses

Three permitted outfitters offer basic, intermediate, and advanced mountaineering courses on Mount Shasta. Take a 2-4 day guided climb, a 4 day glacier workshop, or a 1 day ice axe/crampon clinic and learn from the experts on how to climb mountains safely.